top of page

A Child of Paradise

By Izzah Husna




I’m a Ghost but I can’t wander anywhere. 

My late mama said I’m a human, a person, 

But those with loaded arms don’t see me as one. 

They don’t hear my cry, my plea for help 

They don’t hear me. They don’t see me. 

My late baba told me they’re blinded 

By the tear gas they threw themselves. 

They’re deafened by their own missiles, 

They are afraid, much more than we are. 

They told me again and again that 

I only exists at the border, where 

They see me then and they talk to me then 

And they’ll put me in handcuffs sometimes 

You know, when they feel like it, when 

The weather makes their coffee taste bitter. 

Then they’ll ask me things, 

They would ask me: 

“Why are you here?” 

“Where’s your home?” 

But I don’t know what they mean by home 

And I don’t know if my answer weighs anything. 

You know, they see us all the same 

Regardless if I am their son’s age, 

Regardless if I am only seven. 



Author’s commentary: 

Let’s place our fathers, mothers, brothers, sisters and children of Palestine constantly in our remembrance and our prayers. With them all, let our hearts beat to the chant “Free Free Palestine!”


Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Commentaires


bottom of page