top of page

Adaptation of Beauty and The Beast

By MZ




CHAPTER 1



In the middle of a busy city with the whirring sound of car engines here and there, lives a family of 7 with a father as the head of the family, who is also a successful businessman - enjoying dinner at the 24-seaters long gold-covered dining table.

“Are you okay, Dad? Is the business alright?”, asks the oldest, a handsome tall man when he sees his father’s long face.

“My children, I’m so sorry. I have failed to be the best father for you guys, the business is going bankrupt. We need to go back to the village as I no longer can afford staying in this big city”.

The three sons are shocked with the news but choose to stay silent as they know how hard their father works to raise them.

“What? No, I don’t want to, I need my daily Starbucks!”

“Yes, how can we live in the village? With no wifi? No pool?”

Different from Rosalind and Hortensia, the other daughter called Beauty, responds “It is okay, Dad. We understand and are ready to help. Maybe we all can work to ease the burden you carry”.

And with that, this family moves to the countryside and lives in a small wooden house. The three sons go hunting, work on the farm and even sail to catch the fish. They live happily, even in poverty and complaints from Rosalin and Hortensia everyday. The two daughters stay at home, sleeping all day and waking up to eat only while Beauty, diligently working as a maid to wash the clothes of villagers who could not afford a washing machine and taking care of her family. Everyone loves Beauty because she is pretty and kind, despite his weird personality - not wanting to befriend anyone.


One day,


In the late evening, Beauty comes home from work. She sits beside her father, who is enjoying the evening breeze.

“Thank you for helping me, Beauty. I'm so grateful for you, you’re such a wonderful daughter”, says the father.

The corners of his lips are lifted, giving the prettiest smile to her - as her name is, her heart is doubtlessly beautiful. She has always been a child who eases her parents, since she was born.

“I don’t feel burdened at all, Dad. Please, don’t say that. You guys are my family and as long as you guys are here with me, I’m willing to help with anything”

The conversation goes on with Rosalind and Hortensia joining them.

Tik tok, tik tok.. the day impatiently shifted to a dark cold night with an eerie glow in the sky.

The night seems so strange, so mysterious..

What is going on?


“I feel good knowing that I am the richest and most powerful man in this village! Who? I am, huh! Everyone will respect me now!”

Knock, knock. Silent. Knock, knock.

“Who’s that? Ellin! Open the door! Am I paying you for nothing? This lowly maid!”

Doors opened. Tap, tap, tap. Someone is approaching the man, he turns around to see who is the figure that dares to come to his house late at night..

He is observing the figure in front of him, head to toe and repeating. Tattered clothes. Smelly and shabby. “Who are you? Why are you here?”

“I.. I am.. I am here to ask for help, ca.. Can I stay here for a night? I am so cold”, says the old woman - shivering and stuttering.

“Ha ha ha, you? Staying here?” The man asked the old woman, cynically.

No! You cannot! My house is not for a lowly person like you! It’s enough to have one already!” He shouted, at her face.

“Please, please help me”

“No way. No means no, old woman. Go away and don’t you dare come back!”

With a sad face, the old woman turns around and walks to the door.. As she is standing in front of the door, suddenly..

She turns around and shouts “I turn you into a beast!” with a wooden stick being pointed to the man.

“Argghhh. Arghhhhh. Why.. Why my face.. Why the hairs..What did you do to me, old woman you witch!”

“Help. Help me, please, I will let you stay for the night, even for nights. Please return me to my old self, please..” shouts the ‘Beast’ while begging the old woman.

The old woman smiles, “This is your punishment for being so arrogant and cold-hearted. You see the rose in that glass jar? Once all the petals fall, you will stay like this forever!”

“Please, help me. How can I leave like this?”

“I can’t help you. Lower your ego and find someone who can accept you for who are”

The Beast runs to see himself in the big mirror in his living room, an ugly hairy creature.

How can I find someone who will accept me? Looking like this?

“But..” he turns around but the old woman is nowhere to be seen. He falls on his knees, crying.

“Why am I being punished like this?”

“Everyone will hate me, I’m so ugly! What should I do with my life now?”

The so-called Beast looks at the thick hair covering his body - from head to toe including his face, turning around and around about 10 times.



CHAPTER 2

[The Journey]



After a year of living in the countryside, Beauty’s family is finally able to adapt with the surroundings and the lifestyle there. As usual, Beauty starts her day going into the forest to wash the villagers’ clothes..

Out of nowhere, she hears rustling bushes behind her. She turns around, but no one is there except for her. “Maybe I am so tired that I’m hallucinating, ha ha ha”.

Minutes after, she hears it again. Clearer. She is scared and rushingly picks the clothes she washes and puts them into the basket. She gets up and runs, wanting to get out of the forest quickly.

“Fuh, glad that I was not eaten by the wild animals just now”

“Who’s that?”

“She is so pretty, with a fair skin and silky long red hair”

The Beast hides behind the bushes, avoiding being seen in that ‘thick hairy costume’. He is busy admiring this pretty girl in front of her, who is actually Beauty.

Should I propose to her to marry me? Can she accept me?

Suddenly, the Beast lost balance and almost fell. Not once but twice, well he is still adjusting with his hairy feet. He turns around to continue admiring Beauty but sadly, she runs away.

“It’s okay, I can come again tomorrow to see her”


The Beast goes to the river, day after day but Beauty is not there even though he comes at the same time as that day.

“Should I give up? But, I don’t want to stay like this forever.”

“Tale as old as time ~ oh oh oh ~”

Wait, who is that? I should hide!

The Beast, again hides behind the bushes. How surprised and happy he is when he sees Beauty walking to the river with a basket in her hand. He smiled, after a year, thought he had forgotten how to smile.

Maybe I should go and say hi, well if you never try then how would you know, right?

The Beast confidently walks to Beauty’s direction and as he stands beside her, “Hi, what are you doing?”

“Hi, I’m washing.. Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh” Beauty yells at him, loudly as soon as she turns her head. She faints.

Fortunately Beauty is small and skinny, Beast holds her in his arms and brings her to his ‘hiding house’ in that forest.


One hour later…


“Ah, my head hurts. Where am I?”

“You’re in my house, young lady. I’m Adam, or you can call me Beast. Looking at how shocked you are to faint, that name suits me better I guess”

“I, I, I’m sorry. But, wh.. What are you?”

“What do you mean what am I? I’m a human too, human.”

“But.. why..?”

“Why don't I look like one? Long story. I’ll tell you later. By the way, hi. I’m Beast, the human. Friend?”

The Beast bravely makes a move on Beauty by asking her to befriend him. He waits for Beauty to shake hands, will she? Maybe? No? Not sure.

“Hi, I’m Beauty” while reaching his hand.

“Oh what time is it now? I need to go home, my Dad will worry about me!”

“But, let's have dinner together first..”

“No, thanks. Not today, thank you Beast. Bye, see you next time!”

Beauty runs out of the door and goes home. Oh, did she say it? Next time? Yes!



CHAPTER 3

[The journey]



A week has passed since that day, Beast has always been by her side whenever Beauty comes to wash the clothes at the river. He is pursuing her, not sure if he really likes her or it is merely because he wants to return to ‘original he’?

They become friends. But, have you guys wondered why Beauty wants to be his friend when she rarely befriends anyone? Or, could it be that Beauty is the one with a hidden motive?

Day after day, week after week, and it has been months now.

Beauty already knows what has happened to the Beast and promises him to help him get his old self back. But, the feelings of the Beast changed now. He really loves Beauty, madly in love with her and not just to return to his old self.

“How many petals are left?”

“It has been a year and five months now, so there should be three out of six. One petal will fell every five months”

“I promise you, I will help you, Beast. You are my only friend”

“Thank you, Beauty. You’re really kind, beautiful inside and out.”


Fast forward, five months later..

“Beast! Can I see that rose in the glass jar? I’m curious..”

“Ha ha ha, sure Beauty. Let’s go to my house, I’ll show you the rose and the house too.. And your favourite place, my rose garden!”

They both walk side by side to his house.

“Here, this is the rose I told you about. There are still three petals, it should’ve be just two by last week”

“Oh, wait here and take a look at this for a while, Beauty. I need to take something outside.”

As soon as Beast sets her feet outside, Beauty opens the glass jar and plucks one petal. Still looks like it fell on its own - but, why did she pluck it? Any ideas?

“Beauty! This is for you, beautiful blooming roses for a beautiful person.”

Beauty is shocked, thankfully Beast does not see what she did just now.

“Auw, this is so sweet! Thank you, Beast, you’re the best!”

“Am I not the best before this? Oh, ok”

“What? No, I mean.. uhm I’m sorry”

“Ha ha ha gotcha! It’s okay, I’m just kidding”

“Beast, look. The petal fell off just now when you’re outside”

“Uhm I guess my time is running up, will you have dinner with me, Beauty?”


The Beast wonders why his rose petal fell off suddenly today? After a week? Could it be his love for Beauty that delays the falling process? Is his love not enough that the petal still falls?

Beauty decides to have dinner at the Beast’s place tonight.

Poor Beast, if only he knows what Beauty did..


At the dining table..

“Beauty, may I ask you something?”

“Yes, sure

“Am I ugly, Beauty?”

“Well, to be honest, yes but you are kind. At least you didn’t left me fainting in the forest alone”

“Yes, I might be ugly but my heart is kind”

“Will you be my wife, Beauty?”

”What.. What are you.. saying?”

Beauty is shocked, and choked. She drinks water to help the food go down. Beauty is terrified and gives an honest answer, “No, I don’t want to”.

The Beast is furious, he feels insecure about his looks. He thinks Beauty does not want to marry him because he is an ugly hairy freak, whom she is scared of at first.

He left the dining table, leaving Beauty behind, alone. He is embarrassed.


Days after..


Beauty is in front of the Beast’s house. She has not seen him since that night.

“Beast! It’s me! Can you please open the door?”

“Go away, Beauty!”

“Please, Beast. We need to talk”

“There’s nothing more to talk about. You shouldn’t be a friend to someone who is ugly like me!”

“Don’t say that, Beast!”

“Just go, Beauty. Go away and never come back!”

“Let’s get married, Beast! I will be your wife!”

Silent. No response. No sound. No voice.

Slowly, the door opens and there is the Beast standing straight in front of Beauty.

“Don’t play with me, Beauty”

“I am not!”

“Say it again”

“What?”

“What did you say just now?”

“Let’s get married, Beast the human. I will be your wife”

A smile appears on his face.

“You’re serious?”

“Yes, I am! But, with a condition - give me a year to get myself prepared”

“Sure. Sure, anything for you my Beauty.”

“Thank you so much, Beauty”

“You’re welcome. I told you I will help you, remember that? But I need a year.”

“Yes. I will wait for you, even for a thousand years!”



CHAPTER 4

[Flashback where Beauty is engaged in a conversation with her sisters and the conversation is the starting point that leads to the conflict].





Again, five months have passed. Like five months ago, Beauty asks the Beast to show her that rose in a glass jar. Like five months ago also, she plucks another petal and makes it seems like it falls on its own, again.


But, why Beauty? Why?


“I only have another petal to pluck and make him stay as a Beast. I don’t want to marry him. I need to do this. I’m so sorry, Beast.”

Then she remembers the conversation between her and her sisters, Rosalind and Hortensia.

“You should’ve made him stay as a Beast and we'll sell him to the circus! Good idea, isn’t it? We will get a lot of money, Beauty!”

“Yeah, I agree! But, do you think the Beast is stupid, Rosalind? How can we sell him to the circus when he doesn’t even come out from the forest? He is not gonna blindly follow us outside!”

“Argh Hortensia! You’re the stupid one! Remember that he asked Beauty to be his wife? We could just say that the wedding will take place in the town! Who gets married in the forest anyway?”

“What if he refused to follow us?”

“He will do anything for Beauty, Hortensia! Use your brain, girl!”


“Beauty.. Beauty?”

“Beauty, my dearest?”

“Hey! Beauty!”

“Ahh! Yes. Yes. What did you say?”

Beauty is lost in her own thoughts. Is she making the right decision? Is this her true self? No, this is not the real Beauty! Something is not right!

“Are you okay, Beauty? You seem lost.”

“No, I’m okay. It’s just there is a lot to think about.”

“Only five months left, and we’ll be together. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure you are the happiest girl alive after we get married.”

“Oh about the wedding, I have another request. I want the wedding to take place in the town. No one gets married in the forest, and this is a once in a lifetime event, so I want to make it memorable for us.”

“But, what if the people are scared of me?”

“Don’t say that. Plus, eyes on me, not others. Let people say what they want, okay?”

“Yes, okay. Anything for you.”


Oh.. Really, Beauty? Going with the plan, huh?



CHAPTER 5

[Beast found out about Beauty’s hidden agenda and her ‘fake’ love towards him. This chapter also shows how Beast is about to give up with his life and wants to accept his destiny to be like that forever].



Two weeks before the wedding..


My family wants to meet you, let’s dinner at my house tonight

I’m not confident, what will they say if they see me like this?”

They all knew it, I’ve told them already

That night, for the first time since he turns into a Beast, he gets outside of the forest and meets other people than Beauty.

What should we call you, Adam or Beast?

Do you live alone?”

Do you cook?

Do you work, how can you support Beauty?”

May I ask, how’d you shower? Do you use hair dryers all over your body?”asked Hortensia, leaving her brain behind.

It is so weird and awkward for the Beast. Well, it has been ages since he last met strangers.

Stop it, everyone. Let him eat in peace.”

The father knows that the Beast is not comfortable, so he comes to the rescue. He likes the Beast, seems like a nice guy to him even though he is so ‘hairy’.

They finished dinner and it went well and Beauty’s father and brothers took this opportunity to get to know the Beast.


In the kitchen..

Beauty, have you thought about our plan?

What plan?

That plan, Beauty with a pretty mind!

Oh, not sure yet

What? You only have a few weeks left! There is just one petal left to be plucked, Beauty. One petal and we’re done! We can get money from selling him!

Guys.. I..”

Selling what? Selling who? What petal? Plucked it? Beauty?

Boom! Busted! Boo!


Tell me, Beauty!! Tell me!” shouts the Beast.

Rosalind and Hortensia are scared and it looks like the Beast is going to eat them alive.

They are taken aback by the shouting of the Beast.

I.. I.. Beast, I.. Can, can explain.. I..

You used me, Beauty! I’m done and thank you, Beauty!

Beast! Wait, I.. I can explain everything..”

Stop it, Beauty! You have nothing to explain!!!” shouts the Beast again.

He is madly furious. Madly, angry!

He runs into the forest. He is embarrassed. He is frustrated. He felt betrayed, by someone he really loves.


Look, Beauty. You hurt someone who truly loves you! Who would lower his ego for you! The one would wait for you. How could you, Beauty?


Two weeks passed, Beauty has been going in and out of the forest. She needs to apologise and explain everything to the Beast. But, Beast was really hurt by her action so he ignores her. He misses Beauty but he is not a toy, he does not deserve to be played like that!

“Beast! I need to talk to you.”

“Beast, can you please come out?”

“Beast, please..”

“Beast, I miss you”

“Beast, let me explain everything”

Beast that, Beast this.. these are what Beauty says this past two weeks - repetitively.


One day,

Beauty tries to push the door of the Beast’s house, but weirdly it is not locked. Beauty gets inside and calls for him but no answer. She gets inside the Beast’s room, no one is there. The house is so quiet.

She is worried, she is anxious about the Beast’s whereabouts.

Where is he?

Beast, please come back. I need you.”

Oh, the rose jar!

There it is, on the bedside table.

Alongside with a piece of paper..


To Beauty,

Thank you for being such a great friend

Thank you for teaching me to lower my ego and pursue people

Thank you for accepting me for who I am

I am so thankful for every moments of us

But, you hurt me so much

Now, it is time for me to go

Away, away from everything

I left this last petal for you to pluck

And all roses I left for you

In the garden

It is all yours

I will accept my fate and stay like this forever

Just know that I truly loves you

Not because of I want to return to my old self

Take care, my Beauty.


Beauty feels like there is something coming down, from her eyes to her nose, through her cheeks and on her hand - tears! She cries, because of Beast? Really? You are crying for someone who you betrayed?

“Where are you, Beast? Please, don’t die…”


“Beast!!!!”

“Beast!!! Where are you? Answer me!!”

“Beast!!!!”

Beauty burst into tears, almost giving up from finding the Beast.



CHAPTER 6

[The determination of Beauty to find Beast and to confess what she actually felt],



“Beast!! Answer me, please!”

“Beast!!!”

Beauty tries to find him, everywhere. She decides to go deep into the thick forest on her own! Not the one that the Beast lives in but the one which no one ever been into.


As she reaches the black, scary forest, Beauty sees a body - lying on the grass, very familiar!


“Beast! Here you are, are you okay? Are you hurt?”

She runs into him. Then again, she bursts into tears.

She listens to his heart and it is beating, thank God! She runs to the river nearby and gets the water to wet the Beast’s face.

The Beast opens his eyes slowly, almost closed but enough to see Beauty in front of her.

“What are you doing here?”

“Trying to save me then sell me?”

“Go, Beauty. Let me be, go..”

“No, no! I won’t let you be, I won’t go anywhere. Please, don’t die Beast”

“But why, Beauty?”

“You hurt me so much”

“I know and I’m sorry, I’ll explain everything later, please don’t die Beast”

“Let me die. I’d rather die than living as a Beast forever”

“No, you will not. I didn’t pluck the rose petal you left and here, you’ve found someone who accepts you! Me, I love you, Beast! I do”

“You cannot die! Please, don’t die! I need you, Beast. I want to be your wife and live with you”


As those words come from her mouth, the Beast again, turns into someone else. A very handsome young man - with no ‘hairy costume’! Beauty almost faint, what in the world she is seeing right now?

"Am I dreaming?"

She slaps her cheeks a few times, ouch! Is this real? Magic in the modern world? What imagination does she have?

Thank you, Beauty. Thank you for loving me and turning me into who I am.”


Two years have passed since that day. Until today, Beauty does not want to believe what she saw in that forest - even with the explanation from the Beast, or Adam now.

A month after that incident, Beauty and Beast got married and lives happily inside the forest without any distraction from other people, especially from Rosalind and Hortensia!

Oh, talking about that. Remember when Beauty impulsively plucks the rose petals without thinking? That is actually because she is being influenced by those two!


“You know what, Beauty? If you have a lot of money, we get to travel the world like before! We will go shopping everyday, we can buy anything that we want! We can buy new clothes, shoes, jewels, even handbags! Come on Beauty, we really need to sell the Beast off at the circus! We need money and our life back! Like before! Don’t you miss the luxurious life we had, back then?”

Actually, it is not ‘we’. It is only ‘them’. Even though the father had a business back then and they had a wealthy life, Beauty has never asked for anything like her sisters and brothers. Whenever her dad asked if she needed anything, she just said “Anything is fine”. Wherever her sisters went to travel, they have never included Beauty. The jewels and handbags, they got it all but not Beauty.


But, why? Her father loves her too, right?


No, her father does not really love her like her sisters. He loves her more only after he got bankrupt and Beauty helps him. The money that her sisters mentioned when they planned to sell the Beast attracts Beauty because she wants to feel it too, she wants to know how it is to have a luxurious life.



CHAPTER 7

[This is the closing chapter where it shows that all that happens between Beauty and the Beast has been resolved].



“Hey, what are you thinking about?”

“Nothing, just how foolish I am. Glad I didn’t sell this handsome man”


She turns around and reaches her husband’s hand. She is now in his arms, forever, safe and sound.


“I love you, my Beast”

“I love you, my Beauty”

“To the forever of the Beauty and the Beast”


They both smile, it is unbelievable - to fall in love with the Beast and to make the Beauty fall in love with the thick hairy creature. Well, true love does exist!


  • THE END -





Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Commentaires


bottom of page