top of page

Alcestis

by Mardhiah Husna






We were once in love.

And if I were to describe us,

we were like two swans.

We trusted each other so much,

not knowing what will happen next.


One fine day, you did that.

You did one thing you should never do.

Yes, you did that; putting the death on me.

You condemned me to death,

though in the first place,

Death has chosen you.

 

Thank goodness, the merciful God,

let me live again as a whole new person.

And since then, in the name of God,

I will never let my voice be heard again,

as if I were really and actually dead.

 

I know that my voice was the one

you loved and liked the most.

Being the sweet lullaby

you've always longed for.

But now, it's gone, together with your lover,

that once was willing to die in your place.

 

I want you to know that.

My silence is not to torment you,

nor is it to hurt your feelings.

My silence is only the proof,

of your own cowardice,

the result of your action.


Author’s commentary:

This poem is based on the Greek tragedy, namely, Alcestis, a play by Euripides.


Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comments


bottom of page