top of page

Bad Poetry Day: Poems by Arief Nazhan


Unwritten For Me


Night without stars,

Just a black-empty view,

A heart full of scars,

Made by you.


It is useless,

To keep chasing,

Because the love nevertheless,

Has ended in the beginning.


Expecting a warm response,

But receive a cold attitude,

Still waiting but no response,

Nothing but rejection I could conclude.


Trying to throw far,

Unreal dream that will never be,

As I realized that you are,

Unwritten for me.

 

Chasing Bird


O’ Bird, I really admired you,

When I first saw you,

Flying through the air,

With passion and dare.


O’ Bird, how thankful,

And how grateful,

I am, when I met this creature,

And acknowledged its features.


O’ Bird, I tried to chase you,

And I tried to catch you,

But no matter how much I’ve tried,

It just does more damage to my pride.


Then I realised something,

All I did was good for nothing,

As if it was possible,

To catch you, the impossible.

 

Imam And Makmum


I am an Imam,

Who leads the people,

During the prayer,

Either at a mosque or at home.


Before becoming an Imam,

I was a pupil,

Who learned from a scholar,

To strengthen my inner dome.


Back then, I was a makmum,

And I’ve stood behind the Imam,

Following his steps,

From the beginning until the end of salah.


So may I ask, will you be my makmum?

Stand and stay with me,the Imam,

Follow my steps,

And I promise, I will lead you to Jannah.

 

Italian Sonnet by Arief Nazhan: The Flower And The Stone


A flower is sitting alone,

While wondering about the same thing,

It is her lover, the stone,

“What am I to him? Everything? Or just nothing?”

Her friends keep asking, “Why that stone?

Out of everything?

Just find a new partner, a better one than the stone.

He has no effort. And what he did for you? NOTHING!”

But as time passes by, then I know and could see,

To him, others are just a bother,

He is such a low-key,

Only shows his love when we are together,

It is fine by me,

As long as we love each other.

 

Two Clouds Above the Sky


Happily and freely,

Letting the wind carry me,

Flying in the sky gracefully,

And everything, I could see.


Suddenly I saw you,one of my kind,

I don't know how and why,

"I want to get to know her!" That's what in my mind,

Then I try to approach you, even though I'm shy.


Anxious, nervous, and embarrassed, we feel,

As we try to get along,

But as time passes, we can deal,

With those feelings and can get along.


Wherever we go, we go together,

Along with the wind that carries us,

There is nothing better,

Than being with you, my precious.


Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comments


bottom of page