top of page

Bad Poetry Day: Submerged Bottles

By Rei



How much time has passed?

I sailed under the sky full of disdain

Where the colourful residents swim fast

And the beauty could be seen under the feet unconcealed by the rain


Where am I?

It’s lightless now and nothing can be seen

The narrow space tells me I might be in a submarine

For the reason that I’m not gasping for air as if I’m drowning


How much time has passed?

Just as I wish to see the sun

The pitch-black surroundings turn dark blue at last

My prayer is heard! My anxiety went from 100 to none


Huh, where am I?

As light scatters my vision becomes clear

The sight of corked-up bottles catches my eye

In the bottles are me(s)? and as they draw near,


I now remember

Decades have passed since the first November we appeared

Should have been breathlessly drowned, not going for harbour

Lest she become what she feared


Emptied medicine and insomniac nights

As the bottles kept surfacing at the top

Mendacious grins and innumerable fights

The corks of peace were threatened nonstop


It is okay she says

We play a part in her life, perhaps

It would have been better if only we had stayed still in the domain of ill-rays

And let her sit down peacefully away from mishaps

Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comments


bottom of page