top of page

Fourth Time's the Charm

By Affa Adi


My heart had been broken once,

Twice, if you counted the paper flowers,

That went unclaimed by the one I thought I liked,

Enough to blind me from seeing you who smiled in colors.


My heart had been broken twice,

But somehow the pain could not compare,

To the one I felt when I saw you go, when I let you go,

And the regrets pooled in tears for acting as if you didn’t matter.


My heart had been broken into pieces,

Where each rewind the memories of you,

Who taught me that life was not always about us,

That it’s okay to fall back in the arms of people who care.


My heart had long been known,

From the mischief I dragged you along,

How nice of you to still turn to save the heart,

That had fallen for you since the day you were charged to rescue.


How feeble this heart of mine,

That could not take another break thrice,

So I hit the road and started the journey of miles,

For you were the one I willed to break my heart the fourth time.



Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comments


bottom of page