top of page

Image of Me

By Siti Sarah Sofea

Frederic Dorr, 1918


As I look in the mirror thousand images of myself emerge. Sometimes I think of myself as a cat, hungry for attention but no energy to reciprocate. Sometimes I'm like a rock, a burden trying to hold on to something uncertain. Sometimes I picture myself as clouds fleeting everywhere, never staying still. Sometimes I deem myself as darkness, needed for the light to shine but never shine myself.

For the times I do my skincare, I glanced at the exfoliator and thought "we sometimes need them but sometimes we don't" Just like the umbrella during sunny day or extra tyres when yours are doing fine "Am I actually needed in this vast world"

But by the time I took a good look at myself in the mirror, At the visible and invisible scars, At the traces of mom and dad, At the version of myself that brace the look from the world, I know not what others see of me I know not who needs my existence But I think of these possibilities, That I might be a comfort to someone, I might be an anchor for passer-by, I might be needed where I fled, And I might just be the gift before the light making shifts to create a sight.

Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comentarios


bottom of page