top of page

The Chaotic Wedding Day

By Arief Nazhan





This video was taken back then when I participated in the Show Your Talent program. My poem tells a story of a wedding day that turns into chaos because of a man who made a wrong move when he performed silat. A man who was supposed to perform silat at a wedding ceremony woke up late on that day. After waking up and realising that he was late, he immediately put on his clothes in a hurry and without wasting time, he ran as quick as a cheetah to the wedding ceremony. Upon his arrival at the wedding ceremony, he saw many people there and greeted some familiar faces such as Pak Mat, Pak Mail and Pak Abu. Soon, when the bride and the groom arrived and took their seats, the man began to perform silat. Everything was good until the man accidentally punched the groom’s face. This triggered the groom’s anger and made him want to punch him back. Unfortunately, the groom’s punch hit his father-in-law’s face. After that, everything became chaotic with both the groom and his father-in-law fighting with each other. As their fight became more epic, the man took his chance to run away from that place. It took me a while to think of what kind of poem I should write for the program. Usually, many poets would write sad and heartbreaking poems. But for someone like me, maybe I should write a funny poem that touched the heart. It is risky because there is a possibility that the audience will not understand and will not be entertained by the poems that I will write. However, there is an English proverb that says 'No Pain No Gain'. But I am grateful because the poem I wrote can entertain the audience, coupled with the acting and silat I present in my performance.

Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Yorumlar


bottom of page