top of page

The Forsaken Maiden's Sestina

by Wang Yingyue



I remember the day you told me

What you felt towards me was love

No, I did not shed any tears

My face however, did fall

Remembering a broken vow of forever

Mind clouded with memories of him


In the past, all I saw was him

Smiling and waving at me

When he spoke of us lasting forever

I believed that was love

Tell me, how could I not fall?

He made me forget my tears


Many times my eyes welled up with tears

All I wanted was an apology from him

To love is to soar, or to fall

The latter happened to me

I believed that to be hurt is a part of love

Learnt the hard way that it is not forever


You promised me a forever

But would I end up once more in tears?

Can’t help but wonder: “Is this really love?”

I know, you’re nothing like him

I am scared the same thing will happen to

me

Not having anyone to catch me when I fall


Is it worth it to fall?

Will this time last forever?

How are you sure you would not forsaken

me?

Will you wipe away my tears

And make me forget him?

Will you return my courage again to love?


I am scared to love

I am frightened to fall

How I am now is because of him

Tell me you will stay forever

And not turn your back on my tears

Then leave, forsaking me


I am forgetting him, for I want our forever

My one and only love, you made me fall

I am in tears, knowing that you want me.

Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comentarios


bottom of page