top of page

The story left unsaid

by Mardhiah Husna




They only see what

they choose to see.

Ignoring the other narrative,

pretending it never exists.

And just like that,

the story behind everything

was left unsaid.


They only know when

to point their fingers,

ironically, not to them,

but to those they call the preys.

So, just like that,

the story behind everything

was left unsaid.


They keep giving

unneeded advices,

that, without knowing,

should be given to them instead.

Then, just like that,

the story behind everything

was left unsaid.


They keep questioning

the reason behind one’s actions.

Fully unaware, they are the reason,

the answer to their own question.

And again, just like that,

the story behind everything

was left unsaid.


If only, just once, they see the untold narrative

without choosing or picking sides.

If only, just this once, they pointed their own fingers

to themselves instead of those they call the preys.

If only, for god sake, just once, they stop giving

the so-called, really, unneeded advices.

And if only, just for once, they stop

questioning someone else’s decision,

things would not have been like this.

The story behind everything that was left unsaid,

will be revealed to the whole world,

even if it is meant to go against them.


Yet they are still the same. Exhibiting the portrayal

of being the preys, while tormenting the real preys.



Author’s commentary:

First of all, I want to emphasise that this poem can and should be understood just the way the readers want to understand it. However, I just want to share what inspired me to write this. I wrote this poem while thinking of a situation I once experienced not a long time ago, in which I was wrongly accused of doing something wrong, and everyone was blaming me instead of giving me the chance to stand up for myself. I often tried to explain myself and tell them that I was not at fault, yet all they did was turn blind eyes with their fingers pointed towards me as if they already chose to believe the untrue part. They also, at that time, gave me advice, which I really did not need because at that time all I needed was a chance to explain myself. Why do I need to explain myself when, in the very first place, I did not do that? It's unfair, right? They questioned this and that, which then led me to just bury my own feelings and keep the truth from being revealed. After all that happened, they still think they are not the ones to blame for why the truth is still concealed. It's powerful and mind-blowing how they can act like prey while the real prey is still suffering.


Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

Comentários


bottom of page