top of page

Waving Goodbye to My Neverland

By Darwina Natasha



In the shadows of my Neverland, I stand,

Trapped in cycles that grip like quicksand,

A carousel of yesterdays on replay,

Yearning to break free and find my own way.


The melody of change whispers in the air,

A symphony of hope, a declaration rare,

With every note, a pledge to forge ahead,

Leaving behind the chains that held me, dread.


Fear lingers, yet courage blooms within,

A battle to conquer, a fight to begin,

For the future beckons with a gentle hand,

And I gather strength to leave the past's strand.


No longer tied by what used to be,

I embrace the uncertainty that sets me free,

Illuminated by dreams that never wane,

I step out of stagnancy, a new path to gain.


With every step forward, the cycle breaks,

Like morning's light, a dawn that awakes,

Regrets scatter like leaves in the wind,

As I muster the courage to transcend.


Bye, my Neverland, a bittersweet adieu,

I'll shed old skin and emerge anew,

With determination as my guiding light,

I'll navigate the darkness, chase the night.


In this symphony of change, I'll take my cue,

A fresh start, a canvas painted true,

Breaking the chains, embracing the fray,

Embarking on a chapter with no delay.


No longer captive to cycles old,

I'll paint my story, bold and gold,

With determination as my guiding star,

I'll journey on, no matter how far.


Stagnancy shattered, a door spreads wide,

A new chapter unfolds, like a rising tide,

In this symphony of life, I take my part,

A fresh beginning, a hopeful start.



Author’s commentary

The song "Bye My Neverland" by Kiss of Life was the source of inspiration for this poem. The melodies and lyrics of this song inspired me to create this poem, as they convey the feeling of being trapped in a loop and the desire to move on and leave behind what has passed. The word "Neverland" symbolises our comfort zone, our childhood, or our past; hence, this poem emphasises leaving our own "Neverland". Yes, it is frightening to leave the "safe" or "happy" zone in our lives, but eventually we will have to do so because departing that zone is a necessary element of growing up as a human. From comfort zone to unpredictable zone, from childhood to adulthood, and from past to present. Life is a journey, not a destination.This poem also depicts the determination to begin a new chapter in life, acknowledging that life would not be as beautiful as starlight in a fairytale, and embracing the future without regrets while creating our own paths in life.



Recent Posts

See All

2:00 

1 Comment


Ki Lee
Ki Lee
Sep 10, 2023

powerlah tasha

Like
bottom of page