top of page

A Noob Movie Enthusiast’s Take on Cinematic Camera Work

By Hannaan Fuad

Edited by Harith Syafiee


Credit: Netflix


One thing that I particularly will take notice of when watching films, movies or any video for that matter, is the camera work. I will wonder why a particular scene in a particular film was shot like this and what kind of effect it has on me, the audience. Analysing this detail heightens my viewing experience tremendously. However, this is also one of the aspects that I noticed is still lacking considerably in our local film industry and thus needs improvement (if you have any suggestions on good local films with impressive camera work, do let me know). 


One of the scenes that stuck to me for quite a long time after watching it thanks to the camera work, was the abrupt camera tilt in Stranger Things Season 3 Episode 4, when Nancy and Jonathan were berated by Tom. I noticed that the effect was instantaneous on the audience, as I immediately felt disarmed and alarmed after the sudden camera tilt, just as what the characters in the film were experiencing in that particular scene. I learned later that this particular technique is called the Dutch Angle, used to portray a sense of uneasiness and tension.


Credit: Netflix


On the other hand, a particular camera work that left me feeling dizzy (literally) was the opening scene of The Hunger Games, when the film was trying to show the poor conditions the people of District 12 were living in. Maybe it was supposed to have that kind of effect, but as someone who experienced motion sickness easily, I do not think the camera work should have been that wobbly and shaky for that long of a time. I do have to say that it is indeed effective in leaving me feeling disoriented. Regardless, shaky camera work, deliberate or not, is my least favourite camera trick.


Another notable film that I’ve watched that effectively utilizes the camera work to heighten the watching experience for the audience is The Invisible Man (2020). From time to time, the camera will focus on a corner of a room instead of what the character in the shot is doing, or pan to the opposite side of the hallway ever so slowly, building up the audience's expectation to see a character in the shot, only to be met with a space. Evidently, these shots are meant to make the audience question whether the invisible man is there, or whether we are as paranoid as the main character is.


Credit: Universal Pictures


In the recently released film, Trap, there are multiple shots where the characters were filmed very close up, with their faces smack up in the middle, which made me wonder what the purpose of this particular technique in this particular scene is for. I’ve guessed that for a lot of time, shooting someone very closely is supposed to inspire a sense of vulnerability and intimacy, and will make the audience feel more invested in the emotional journey of the characters. However, in this movie, it doesn’t feel that that was the purpose of such a shot, as the characters weren’t particularly showcasing vulnerability during those moments (in hindsight, maybe it does). During the back-and-forth that the characters, Johnny and Cooper, were having, both were filmed very close up their faces, and both actors were speaking and making eye contact directly to the camera. My head was actively trying to find the reason for such a shot. I guessed that maybe it was to show moments when the characters were manipulating the other party as it shows that they had control of the stage. This would mean that both Johnny and Cooper knew something we don’t, which in turn led me to expect a plot twist regarding the character Johnny. If you’re wondering whether my “very educated” guess was spot on or not, maybe you should watch the movie. 


Parasite is also known for its masterful cinematography and camera work. From the pans in Jessica’s Jingle and during Jessica’s deceit towards the mother (which, both stand for me as the character’s mastery of the art of manipulating the people around her and turning the table against them), to the framing of the characters in the shots to symbolize their social and psychological status. For example, characters that are visibly placed higher than the other characters would show that the character is currently in control of the situation and vice versa. A lot of people have already written about Bong Joon Ho’s skillful control of the audience using cinematography as the tool; therefore, I will not list down every single camera trick that Bong uses in the film here.


These are only a few examples of how camera work can affect the viewing experience of the audience. A lot can be explored in this topic, but today I only want to mention these examples to show how a noob movie enthusiast such as me enjoys the watching experience. If you have any recommendations for movies with notable camera work, please do so in the comments section!


Comments


bottom of page