top of page

Genshin Impact: Fontaine Quest blew my mind!

By Nrl Liya 

Edited by Wan Nur Amrina





(Warning: This contains not only spoilers but also me being excited over the quest)


If you are like me who has been playing Genshin Impact since its early era (a.k.a. when Hoyoverse was Mihoyo) then some of you would understand that Genshin Impact has its ups and downs. But I’m sure most of you can agree that the Fontaine lores and map haven’t been the most fun recently. 


Now to those who love Inazuma and Sumeru, please don’t attack me but exploring Inazuma, especially Enkonomiya and Sumeru has been nothing but dizzying and filled with frustrating puzzles and gameplay. I’m only saying my personal experiences as a casual player who never played a game before like Genshin Impact. 


So it comes to my surprise and pleasant, that Fontaine's quest has been nothing but an enjoyment. I didn’t expect to start being so eager to play Genshin Impact again. The region has brought back the excitement inside me to play, like the first time the Golden Archipelago event came. The simple and calming scenery of Fontaine plus the beautiful background music and sound effects as you swim around is majestic. As a person who doesn’t like the ocean I would gladly say I WANT TO GET INTO THE SEA. 


But what I love the most is the lore of Fontaine. It truly captured my attention and I kept being on the edge of my seat as the quest progressed. 







Furina's first appearance and personality have already put a seed of doubt in me, how she ‘acts’ and behaves seems abnormal and not Archon-like. So it didn’t surprise me much that in the end, she is not the Hydro Archon but rather an imitation made by Focalors. I got chills when Focalors appeared because she truly has the archon presence that Furina clearly lacks. I love Focalor's design and how she danced around before her death sentence was beautiful and encapturing. 


Furthermore, Furina’s sacrifice for the Fontaine people and how it unfolds is enrapturing. The whole truth revelation happening with Neuvilette just there just trying to digest the truth behind Fontaine while holding his tears. But even then, Furina’s identity does not even cover the shock I got with Skirk and that the third descender's remains are in the gnosis. 


I literally took a whole minute just staring at the screen and trying to understand what this new character just said, because excuse me??? And even worse, we didn’t even get to talk with Childe. Instead, he gets thrown away after inducing his fighting addiction with that scary whale boss. (Honestly, that thing was so scary because we suddenly got dragged in there and I was with my weak team.)







Even so, my favorite lore in Fontaine was Neuvillete, revealed to be Dragon Sovereign of Hydro. The fact that he is now known as a crybaby among fans because every time he cries, it rains. Such a good lore on the lullaby ‘Hydro dragon, Hydro dragon. Don’t cry.’ His story quest about the Melusines made me cry because of how sweet and soft it is, and made me love his character even more. 


Overall, I am very happy with Genshin Impact's newest update. I hope that this excitement I have over Genshin continues and I am looking forward to what Hoyoverse has planned for future quests. That’s it from me and my Genshin hype moment. Thank you for reading ;). 


Comments


bottom of page