top of page

Holiday! Bandung Edition

By Afifah Mahadzir

Edited by Wan Nur Amrina




Hello guys, it’s me again. I’m not sure if people knew me, but if you did read Holiday! Türkiye Edition, then yeah, it’s the same person. I am back and now writing about my experience in Bandung, Indonesia, where I have travelled very recently. Well, first things first, please do not have these kinds of thoughts: "Oh, that country is unexciting; I would never go there," or "Malaysia is better." Oh, no. Every land on this earth has been bestowed with beauty by Allah s.w.t. Each one of the countries is unique with its own culture, customs, and people. Do not fill your mind with obsolete stereotypes, but instead, let's learn to appreciate things more.

Okay, enough with the introduction. I wanted to first tell you about how amazing, astonishing, and mind-blowing the clouds looked on the way there. There are so many of them, one being close to another. Wait, did I talk about clouds again? Have I done that before in my past writing? Man, I didn't know I was such a huge fan of literal clouds. Cool, I guess.

Alright, I will really start talking about places. So on the first day in Bandung, my family and I went to a place called Kawah Putih. It is actually a crater lake located in Ciwidey, Bandung. I kid you not, that has to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited in my entire life. The lake itself was the bluest blue I have ever seen. Yes, the last sentence did not make any sense, but I know you get what I mean. Just look at these photos and be mesmerised.


Kawah Putih

Rengganis Suspension Bridge




The thing I mentioned The Lodge, Maribaya




I forgot to tell you that Bandung is a mountainous city. It is like our Cameron Highland. Hence, it gets really cold and foggy sometimes, but the view was totally worth all the shivering. We also went to a place called Kawah Rengganis. Yeah, a lot of kawah. But this time, we did some fun activities! The first thing we did was walk on top of a very lengthy bridge. I was flustered by the height at first, but then the feeling just disappeared. I realised that maybe I should not have overreacted.


Then I rode this one thing that I had forgotten the name of. However, I am sure you all have seen this attraction somewhere on the internet. This time, I was not scared at all and rather enjoyed myself. It was fun, but I think it ended too quickly. After that, we went to a go-kart place. Only God knows how delighted I was, as it was my first time trying. But then, because it was my first time, what could I expect? I crashed into the tyres that were put at the sharp turn of the track. The incident left me shocked, and both of my legs hurt for days. But then, luckily, I was fine—no broken bones or anything.


The next place we visited was a hotspot named The Lodge, Maribaya. This place was breathtaking, as the pine trees filled the mountain with grace. If you love taking pictures, this place is just for you. But then again, everything comes with prices. This place challenges people’s resilience as countless stairs await. I would not recommend the elderly to come as I have seen one there, and I cannot stop worrying about her. Remember, we must always be careful and take good care of our health.

Talking about health, I had a really bad fever there. Even though I wore the face mask, the cold still got to me. Thus, if you are planning to visit, make sure that you bring along your vitamins, face mask, and hand sanitiser. Avoid crowded places as much as you can. I did not really take care of myself that much back then, and I regretted it as I felt the trip was a little bit less enjoyable. Lastly, thank you for reading, and I hope you have a wonderful day.





Comments


bottom of page