top of page

Holiday! Turkey Edition

By Afifah Mahadzir


Being outside of the country was something that I had never imagined. I mean, it is too expensive! Thousands would be spent if you were actually going to, which means I am one lucky girl. It was on my 18th birthday when I got the chance to visit one of the most beautiful countries in the world, which is Turkey! Not the animal, people. The country. Yeah. My parents had wanted to go there since forever, and as the youngest child, I got dragged along by them.


If I were to tell you about all the details, this writing would never end. So I'll just tell you about several spots where I had unexplained inner serenity. First and foremost, Istanbul! This is a must-visit as it is Turkey's most populous town. But, you may be wondering, how does this crowded metropolis bring me inner peace? Surely, it's the cats. People, those videos you saw on the internet are true! There were cats everywhere, no matter where I went. At some places, like mosques or restaurants, cats (and dogs too) are even easier to spot, and they all looked like little fluffy clouds walking around. I was so happy to see them that I petted practically every cat I saw. Here are some photos of the babies.


Next, I really love Cappadocia too. Hot air balloons, you ask? Yes, I saw them there. But no, I did not ride one, as the cost was too expensive. It’s okay; I already felt so happy just by watching them floating around. Cappadocia was also famous for cave houses, and honestly, I was in awe when I visited one. It was just so pretty and unique, and the houses were also cold as they were made out of soft sandstone. I also met a few kids there. They were so nice, and apparently, they knew some Malay words too! So cute.


Pamukkale, the final stop, is my personal favourite. This region was completely different from Istanbul or Cappadocia, and I felt utter peace the instant we arrived by bus. The grass was lush, the road was spotless, and the air was crisp. Those who like nature will undoubtedly fall in love. Hierapolis, a historical site, and Travertine Pools, a famous salt pool, are both located here. As someone who has been there before, the view was so spectacular. Pictures don’t do it justice. Here are some of them.



It appears that I am more eager to share photos than to write. Maybe a little. It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for me, therefore I'd like to share what I see with you even more. Oh, and if you're thinking of going there in March, please bring everything that will keep you warm. Wear a coat, gloves, socks, a scarf, an ear muff, and whatever else you have. It was so cold that I wished I could go back to Malaysia. If you have the opportunity to visit later, make the most of it! That's all I have for now. I wish you continued good health and happiness.


1 comentario


Ki Lee
Ki Lee
07 ago 2023

jeessshhh now I want to go to Turkey with my nonexistent money

Me gusta
bottom of page