top of page

Is Mental Health a Part of the Devil's Game?

By Nurul Nasyrah

Edited by Siti Nur Najihah





I thought a lot about what I'm trying to say in my debut piece, and I, in fact, came directly from TikTok to share this with you. I realise it's such a depressing subject and dreadful to bring up, but this shall be pondered at least once. As the title suggests, having a mental illness is no longer a taboo subject, and it is a wonderful way for some people to become closer since we learn about their difficulties by putting ourselves in their shoes. But here's a piece of advice: don't push their buttons.


When confronted with an issue, each person will have a distinct reaction, whether beneficial or detrimental, despite the fact that the obstacles vary. Back then, I used to imagine that in the other universe, each obstacle had its own level of difficulty, or that it could be classified into several sorts, with the most difficult one that concerns our emotions. You can get a sense of what I'm trying to get across right now if you watch the Alice in Borderland show starring Kento Yamazaki. 


But as I grew older, I realised that the challenge does not come with a measuring tape and that just because one person's difficulty is less than another's does not imply that the person is weaker. I have a friend who is still battling with this issue; at one time, she could not bring herself to communicate and could only scribble a message on a piece of paper to ask for help since she nearly committed suicide again. 


It's terrifying to think about how your mind can mislead you into doing things contrary to your regular personality, and each of us must have traumas that we wish no one knew about because we are afraid of being judged. However, we must understand that every trauma has a basis that can be traced back to our childhood that probably is crying out loud to be embraced. Most people, and by most, those who are not receptive to the new shift of consciousness, will dismiss it as nothing but rather a weak faith. Does drowning in your own conflict imply that you are a pawn in the game of the devil? 


This crossed my mind a few years ago, but I did not have enough courage to ponder it more since I was afraid it might mislead me; jokes on me. But I recently came across this video and thought I'd share it with you. The video is debating whether or not mental illness exists and that it is entirely Shaytan's fault. It is worth noting that Muslims were the first to classify mental illness as a disease, and they also had something called a Maristan, which was a holistic treatment centre for individuals in need, treating them holistically through aromatherapy, food, talk therapy, and so on. In a nutshell, mental illness is real and necessitates a different treatment approach.


As a holistic being, along with prayers and worship, people also need to seek treatment, whether it is through therapy or medications. At the end of the day, we are all just human beings with a list of flaws. There is no better teacher than life. It does not matter if we are different from others. Everyone has their own journey; hence, if we are put one step behind others, it does not determine us because, in the end, we are in a different lane, and sometimes the wrong train takes us to the right place. 


Comments


bottom of page