top of page

Music in My Life

By: Fakhitah Yusuf 

Edited by Hannaan Fuad



Music has existed since then, longer than we realise. If you look up the meaning of music, it is vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion. 


One of the expressions of music is called a song. Songs have many genres; there are rock, ballad, pop and many more. I was a fan of K-pop, but K-pop itself may contain many genres in music. It is just to generalise the songs that come from the Korean music industry.


I love music so much that I could be streaming songs on my laptop for hours. However, music has significant functions in my life.In music, there are beats and rhythm. It helps me maintain my energy. As an example, after a long day of dull classes, I will put on my headphones and listen to songs that are typically called noisy, with heavy instruments and loud noises, to keep my energy as I walk back to my mahallah (hostel in IIUM). I need to maintain my energy until I arrive at my room because attending classes has drained all of my energy. 


Music also helps to stabilise my energy. I use music to calm down the intense energy that is running in my body after a hectic day that requires more movement than my daily routine. I will particularly lay down on my bed after the day ends, listening to songs through an earphone while my eyes are shut. I will listen to a song that is similar to what I listened to when I walked back from classes, but the volume is turned down a bit. It is to keep me conscious and not dozing off because I have other things to do.


Listening to music can be considered a hobby. As I mentioned before, I can sit on my chair and stream songs on YouTube for hours. I am interested in songs that have heavy instruments, which are always considered noisy. I am not able to claim what genre it is because I am not an expert in the genre of music. However, people have their own taste in music, and we need to respect that. Thus, we should not criticise a particular group just because they love certain genres of music, should we?


Comments


bottom of page