top of page

To MUN Or Not To MUN

By: Leah

Edited by: Wan Nur Amrina 





This past week, I was invited (read: dragged) by a friend to join the university's MUN training session. For those who don’t know, MUN stands for Model United Nations. Initially, I was sceptical, seeing as the last time I did anything relating to MUN was 4 years ago, and it didn’t go well. Despite this, I persevered, really living up to my New Year's resolutions in the final month of the year.


Granted, during the actual event I felt shaky and unconfident with my points. I didn't think I would do well and would be made fun of for not knowing what I was doing. In fact, I distinctly remember mumbling ‘What am I doing?’ to myself during the debate. (I’m pretty sure my friends heard me, to be honest). 


My favourite moments included the delegates calling each other out on their hypocrisy, which sounded like couples trying to conceal their argument from their friends. The fact that immediately after the session ended, the delegates assured each other that they did not actually think the way they portrayed themselves during the discussion. 


All in all, it was a good first MUN session for me. Are there things I wish I had actually said or done during the session? Absolutely. Could I have prepared better? Definitely. I mean, come on, I came into that classroom with a single page in my Google Docs. But I can prepare better for next time. Yes, I said next time. (14-year-old me would be shaking like a leaf). Who knew that good company and doing something you’ve secretly wanted to do for a long time would be an excellent combination? I certainly didn’t. 


What I thought would be a horrifying mistake turned out to be a memorable evening that I wish to relive. So I’m taking this as a sign to keep trying things, even if they scare me, because who knows when I’ll find something that I will love. 


And you know what the best part is? I actually did end up going again. And I plan to go every week if I can. :) 


Comments


bottom of page