top of page

World of Marbling Art

By S. Adila

Edited by Wan Nur Amrina


It was back on January 13th when my friends and I decided to attend a live performance of The Whirling Dervishing of Rumi and Marbling Art Show at Istana Budaya in celebration of the 60th year of diplomatic relationship between Malaysia and the Republic of Turkiye. Immersing myself in Turkish culture, it was beyond my imagination. It got me pondering a lot afterwards, like what was the significance of it? What was the symbol behind the things they used or the movements they made? Regardless, in this article, I’m focusing on marbling art.


Some people probably already know about this type of art, but unfortunately, not me. Thus, when I witnessed the artist doing it in front of my eyes, I was mesmerised. What is marbling art, specifically? To simplify, it’s a type of art that uses oily water as the main medium. Sprinkling and brushing all the spectrums of colour on it and transferring the pattern onto a paper or fabric. Pretty interesting, right? Especially when it was a professional who did it. It looks flawless and easy to draw, especially knowing that it takes a lot of patience and resilience to be able to do it with your eyes closed.



Do you know that marbling art is also known as traditional Turkish art called Ebru? That’s why it was a part of the performance that night because the Ebru was supposed to promote their culture, identity, and lifestyle. Just like how Malaysians have Batik. I went home that day thinking that the canvas you use to make art does not matter. Paper, digital, clay, water, or probably a leaf are not the biggest concerns in art. As long as you have passion, ideas, and creativity, you can create anything you desire.



Comments


bottom of page